Day 1

I started a long journey last week and decided that I really needed to take some steps to get in shape. I committed to running the Indianapolis Mini Marathon. I figured that if signed up for the Mini Marathon it would force me to train which would help me lose weight.

As I start this journey I am edging close to 200 lbs, I am currently weighing in at 196 lbs.  I know that most of the blogs that categorize weight lose journeys usually feature people that are even more overweight than I am. However, I know there are a lot of people in the same boat I am in and don’t need to loose 100’s they just need to loose more like 30 or 50 lbs. In reality the actually number of pounds I loose doesn’t matter to me as much getting healthy.  I don’t feel good about my body nor do I feel comfortable in my clothes. Most days I wear dresses to work due to the fact that only one pair of my dress pants actually fit me at the moment. For a long time I have worn size 14 but I know that is no longer the case as I struggled to squeeze into anything.

I also know that I am at risk for type 2 diabetes.  I was told over a year ago that I had a predisposition for diabetes, something to do with a genetic marker or something.  I know I have an aunt who is a lot skinnier than I am and she got diabetes. My doctor told me that if I didn’t loose some weight I was going to get it.  This is completely preventable if I can muster the will power to workout and eat healthy.

I know that through the support of my wonderful husband and family I can do this. It is going to be tough as I would rather sit with a book while binge eating chips than go run long distances. If I don’t make some changes though I will just continue to gain. So let the difficult journey begin. 

Leave a Reply

